PC5 for Saturday, August 20, 2016: Top Five Championship Droughts

PC5 for Saturday, August 20, 2016:  Top Five Championship Droughts 

5.  Atlanta Hawks – It’s been 58 seasons since the Hawks last won an NBA Championship and they did it in St. Louis.  They made the 550+ mile move to Atlanta following the 1967-68 season.

4.  Detroit Lions – Detroit edges out Atlanta by one year.  The last time the Detroit Lions won a Championship?  1957.  That’s pre-Super Bowl.  59 seasons if you’re counting.


3.  Cleveland Indians – The Cleveland Indians last won the World Series in 1948.  That’s 67 seasons if you’re not counting 2016.  Hopefully the Cavaliers will bring them some of that Championship mojo and end the drought.

2.  Arizona Cardinals – The Arizona Cardinals last won a Championship in 1947 when they were the Chicago Cardinals.  Again, pre-Super Bowl.  68 seasons and counting.

1.  Chicago Cubs – No surprises here.  1908.  You do the math.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The Best Sports Stories. Period.



To Top